Biscuit firing and a few finished pieces!

Hello!

It’s been a while, but I’m back! I was hoping to get some inspiration or pick up some wonderful ceramic items while we were on holiday, but I didn’t find anything specific to the region and only a few things really struck me in terms of potential pottery projects. I’ll write more about that later.

I also had to wait another week before visiting SB to get some things fired and returned. I dropped off a ton of items: different shaped cups, dishes, bowls and a chess set for biscuit firing. I am going to spend a little time this morning thinking about glazing and colours for those items as I’m back in with SB tomorrow night!

But I also got back these two items! The first was a bowl that opened up to more a plate shape. I had painted a stain on the markings but perhaps another layer would have made the blue stand out more. Then on top I painted a crackle effect glaze. I’m happy with the outcome, it was one of the first things I made with SB. In hindsight I would have cleaned the rim, which is edgy and sharp in areas. I can’t remember whether the glaze is ok to eat things on so I’ll double check with SB on that, but other wise.. yeah! I think my favourite part is the crackle effect.

…And I got my castle back! I am very happy with how it turned out, although the brown is more red in colour than I had imagined. My little one loves playing with it – putting her little animals inside and taking them out again. Someone said I need to be careful that she doesn’t break it – but it was made for her to be played with and if it chips or breaks then so be it – I’m not precious about it. It’s hers and I want her to play with it!

Leave a Reply

