Some success! Some learning opportunities..

It’s been busy here let me tell you! I’ve been building a vase inspired by the markets in Phnom Penh, Cambodia all week and then last night I got to pick up a few items and glaze some more!

This is the vase and the sketchpad drawings – you can see how the reality of putting ideas into clay changes things, but I’m happy for this process to take place. I rolled out a slab and used a cordial bottle to get the initial shape and structure. Thereafter I began rolling smaller slabs, cutting out pieces, layering, etching, shaping.. It was so much fun! It’s drying at the moment and will hopefully be fired this week. Then the next step will be glazing. I’m realising that this is an entirely different skill to hand building, and one I certainly haven’t gotten the hang of!! But I am really happy with my vase so far. I’m hoping it’ll be bright and beautiful once finished.

I got back a couple of pieces from SB last night! These were the pieces initially fired at a high temp, which limited the glazes I could use to low temp glazes. I began with this black/metallic glaze on my chess pieces and then used this for the underside of my dishes and bowls. The inside of the bowls were glazed with a clear glaze to show the internal patterning and contrast with the harsh black.

I’m really happy with how the chess pieces turned out! But the glaze on all the pieces ran. The smaller dish broke entirely and the other dishes all melted onto the sand on the shelf below, so I have had to file them down and neaten them up. The glaze also bubbled in some areas, I don’t know why. Obviously all of these are a little extra-ordinary as they are fired the ‘wrong’ way around, but its all a learning process.

Last night I glazed the other chess pieces with clear glaze for a second firing and will be applying a lacquer to make them pearly white. The lacquer will require a third firing. I also glazed the three small bowls, pen holders and my box. I really need to write down what glazes I used.

I’m pretty much out of clay too – I have been collecting my scraps and will be attempting to slake the clay down and reclaim it! But that’s a story for another post..

This week is about getting together more ideas, sketching and glazing ideas!

I’ve been using Instagram a lot and keeping that updated more quickly than the blog so feel free to follow me on that – @pmstrat

PG x

 

 

Leave a Reply

