Throwing for the first time!

This weekend just gone I went for a one day throwing class. A few weeks ago I bought a Shimpo Aspire table top (with foot pedal) wheel and I was basically getting no where, having real trouble centring clay and even less luck throwing a vessel. I had been hunting down a one on one session or throwing day but the 2hr one on one sessions within a 30-45min drive were £60+ and the throwing days were even further and started around £100 per day, not including the items you threw or lunch or whatever.

But as luck would have it, the initial pottery instructor I had a course with back in the winter was running a single day, 10am-4pm class for £70. Much more reasonable.

I went along to the studio and met some really lovely people. Although I knew in theory what I should be doing, I’ve never had the clay in abundance or continuity of time to really bring theory and practice together – and this is what the throwing day offered. It was a little bit of a slow start but after a while I got the hang of things! Centring is still very difficult and can take a while, but I slowly got the hang of making cylinders and bowls (bowls are much easier!). Another person on the course gave me the tip of closing my eyes for centring and I really found this helped. Keeping elbows in and my hand slightly raised from the wheel also helped immensely.

I also discovered, as with many things, I am ambidextrous with the wheel’s turning direction. I am right handed but I find with most things I actually lead with my left hand (or foot is we’re talking about surfing or snowboarding). And so I had the wheel turning both anti clockwise and clockwise, depending on what I was doing. It wasn’t intentional, it just felt more natural.

The only frustrating part of the day was the fact that because we hung around and wedged clay for the first hour or so, by the time we had thrown a few cylinders or bowls, they weren’t dry enough by the afternoon to turn. This was pretty frustrating as it was taken for granted you could just pop back another time and finish them off – when my circumstances don’t lend themselves to this. Also, as I found previously, the studio is so dusty I get a blocked nose and sinus after spending a few hours there. I’ve read how dangerous breathing in clay dust is, and I’m sure the instructor knows this as well, but it made me long for the cleanliness of SB’s studio.

I’m afraid I don’t have any photos of the items I produced on the throwing day but if I am able to go back to turn them, have them fired and glazed, I will certainly post the pictures on here and instagram (pmstrat).

To keep the momentum going I spent this morning on my little shimpo at home! It was certainly different to the larger pottery wheel at the studio and the clay I Was throwing was my reclaimed clay which has grog in it, but I divided my clay into five 300,400 and 500g or so lumps and had a go! I was able to throw bowls and cylinders which made me very happy and I also managed to throw a few egg cups off the hump! I even pulled my own handle to attach to a mug. I left a few items to dry out in the sun and had a go at turning this lunch time – that was trickier than I had imagined! Just getting the item centred was a pain. As a result a few items were scrapped, but as always, I’m happy to do this as it’s all a learning process! Three things made it out alive, two bowls and an egg cup.

I’m going to start watching a few turning tutorials, I need tips for centring items and I’m not sure I’m holding the tools correctly to make a foot.

I’m over to SB’s studio tomorrow to pick up things and no doubt glaze the last few items. I’ve run out of clay pretty much now too (I’m in the process of drying the scraps from today). I’ll take over my thrown things as well. Although I don’t know if she’ll be happy with me – she said people should work with clay for 2yrs handbuilding before throwing…!! She doesn’t know I have a wheel either. EEK. Don’t be mad SB!

…The adventures with clay continue!

PG x

p.s. Art in Clay this weekend! And the latest copy of Ceramic Review arrived today. A great pottery day.

Leave a Reply

