Ceramic Art London 2017

wp-image-1489017327jpg.jpg

It was Ceramic Art London this past weekend! My first time going, Beloved and I had tickets for the Sunday. It was a beautiful sunny day with clear blue skies over Kings Cross; a perfect day for wandering around the exhibition and chatting to exhibitors!

The show was in Central Saint Martins and consisted of 90 odd stalls of primarily artists and the odd stall from Ceramic Review, a book stall, Craft Potters Association and one raising money for the new Clay College up in Stoke.

There was a really nice vibe about the place, no doubt helped by the beautiful weather! Who doesn’t love a sunny day?

Having only really experienced Art in Clay at Hatfield House, I thought it might be a little bigger, but that doesn’t reflect the quality of the work on show. It was certainly dominated by statement pieces and less so about functional ware. Don’t get me wrong there were some selling mugs but unlike Art in Clay it seemed much more “art” than everyday use. Which is by no means a criticism! Just an observation. So my hopes of picking up a reasonably priced mug or something was a little restricted. However that didn’t stop me chatting to Lisa Hammond and buying a gorgeous storage jar from her. Her stall had a mix of big beautiful pots and smaller functional jugs, jars and cups. wp-1491230105438.jpgShe was so approachable and happily explained how she made the jar and decorated it with slip. I really love how down to earth potters are! Excuse the pun.wp-image-974943916jpg.jpg

I gambled my chances to win a piece on the Clay College bag lucky dip but sadly was not rewarded. I am now the proud owner of this lovely black tote!

Work that stood out for me was that of Peter Beard, whose pots look like they had been grown from the Great Barrier Reef!

Heidi Warr’s monochromatic pieces were incredibly intricate as were Raewyn Harrison’s historical architecture inspired pieces. Then I couldn’t help but smile at Midori Takaki’s huge polar bear!

wp-1491230098170.jpg

Peter Beard

wp-1491230077262.jpg

Heidi Warr

wp-1491230087412.jpg

Midori Takaki

wp-1491230067034.jpg

Raewyn Harrison

It really was a feast for the eyes wherever you turned. Beloved was impressed with the work of Finn Dam Rasmussen and the demonstration of the 3D clay printer.

Overall we had a really wonderful day and I came away with more confidence that I will be able to translate my ideas into meaningful pots! (As soon as I can find the time…)

And before I sign off – my little blog has appeared in the most recent issue of Ceramics Review! I feel very proud, if a little out of place.

PS xxwp-1491231385592.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

