Throwing and Kiln shelf issues!

During the week I very nearly signed up to an intensive throwing class… it was far away and expensive. But I really want to improve my throwing. However money is tight at the moment and so rather than spend the time and money going somewhere else, I thought I should try and have a good few sessions at home! I was hoping that the sun would be out and I’d be able to save the mess in the house by throwing outside… but no. It’s rained on and off all weekend.

Nonetheless! I got my little table top Shimpo out of the toilet in the garden and cut out about 8-10 chunks of 500g clay, and two 750 chunks. I wanted to throw some mugs and a couple of bowls.

Throwing, unlike previous times, went well! I’ve really tried to put into practice what I have been told and seen online on youtube and Instagram. Gus the Pothead is one of my favourites on Instagram, I’d definitely recommend checking out his throwing videos!

I managed to make eight mugs about the same shape and size. I wired them off and then let them dry a little on the bat. I think I might be going wrong here – should I be taking them off the bat straight away? Two got damaged when I was trying to take them off so I let them dry a little. Any advice on taking things off the bat would be appreciated! What works for you?

I threw two more mugs and then my bowls suffered a similar fate as the two mugs – they completely collapsed as I was trying to take them off the bat. It was so frustrating! I finally managed to throw another large bowl and keep it. But I did as I described earlier, I wired it off and let it dry out a little before moving it off the bat.

My plan is to glaze at greenware stage with Amaco Potters Choice and do a single firing. However herein lies my next issue. My kiln shelves are flaking! The bat wash flakes off and falls onto a pot. How do I stop this happening? Does bat wash come off with water or do I need to do something else to remove it all? I read perhaps a very thin coat is better than a thick one… Please! I don’t want to ruin the cups and bowl I’ve thrown this weekend. And as SB’s studio is closed I don’t have another kiln to use!

Love in advance

PS xxx

One thought on “Throwing and Kiln shelf issues!

Leave a Reply

